.Christmas.

e861dd32195ab485a0d7357775687051

Last night I was running around trying to get some things done around my apartment and happened to have the Charlie Brown Christmas special on. I’m sure I’ve seen this show many times during my life, but I don’t think I have ever truly listened to the words of the movie or understood the plot. I took a brief moment to stop cleaning and working and just listened. Charlie Brown was asking everyone what his problem was since he wasn’t in the “Christmas” spirit.

His questions hit home with me.

This month I have been going nonstop. Christmas parties every weekend, hanging out with family and friends, working, and simply living life. Yet, I once again allowed myself to come upon Christmas without taking the time to remember why we celebrate in the first place.

Just like Charlie Brown, I feel like I have been wandering around without a true sense of the season.

Do we truly take the time that Jesus deserves to reflect on His gift to us during this season? Do we allow Him to make Himself known to us in a fresh way that draws us closer to Him? Do we seek Him in the quiet moments of the season or continually fill those moments with our other Christmas activities?

Please do not get me wrong here; I adore the Christmas parties, movies, cookie decorating, and traditions. However, I have allowed those things to take precedence over the reason for the season and I approach Christmas like a worn out marathon runner.

He came to give us life and life to the full. He came to conquer death once and for all. He came to rescue our lives from the imprisonment of sin. He came to display His passionate love for mankind.

Christmas is a wonderful time of year and it’s magic is simply beautiful. But may we not forget the One who came for us and remember to bring Him the praise that He deserves.

Merry Christmas!

f2a8538887d53fab1c9b3085c06007f0

 

Share your thoughts....