.new year & new adventures.

trustGod

As I turn another year older, I am reminded of how God has been so faithful to me. He has loved me unconditionally. He has been far more gracious to me than I will ever deserve. And He has constantly guided me in a plan that He is revealing to me slowly but surely.

A plan that is completely for His glory and my good.

Ten years ago this past summer, God allowed me the opportunity to travel to Senegal. Sixteen-years-old and ready to take on the world, God used that trip to change my outlook on life and see that it truly is worth it to give everything over to Him. It was during this trip that God began to show me pieces of the plan He had laid out for my life and the calling He was placing in my heart.

He has called me to give my life to Him. To fully surrender every area of my life to Him in order to bring Him glory and to use my skills and efforts to see the nations come to call Him Lord. What a humbling thing to be invited to partner with God in such a way!

Fast forward to this past summer and I am just a few days from jumping on a plane and heading to Ethiopia to serve with a wonderful ministry called Sports Friends. Before we leave, my friend tells me that they have an opening in their Finance Manager role. And I simply hear God tell my heart, “It’s time.”

For all this time I have not wavered in the calling that I knew God had placed on my life. And so many times I had tried to make it happen on my own. I knew that God had given me this calling, so why couldn’t I start using my skills right out of college? Why weren’t any of the avenues I was taking to try to get to this position working out before? For ten years I had wrestled with this understanding of what God had called me to do with my life and my unwillingness to fully surrender.

In my mind, I would be able to graduate college, apply to any missions agency I wanted, and be accepted right away. God had given me glimpses of how He wanted to use my life, so I deemed it necessary for me to just kind of help the process come along. I could make this all happen in my life, on my timetable, and in my own way.

Do you hear my selfish heart in all of that? I sure do, and it makes me so disgusted with myself! Praise God that He knew better than I did how I was not ready (and my heart was unwilling) to fully serve Him.

So after I was able to see Sports Friends in action and fell in love with the ministry, I began the application process. Sports Friends is a ministry of SIM. Their mission is to equip churches in Africa, Asia, and South America to make disciples of youth, their families, and communities through strategic sports ministry. You can find out more here.

sf-logo-2017

I am beyond excited to announce that I will be filling the role of Finance Manager with Sports Friends! In God’s amazing timing, He has opened this door and I know that the journey has just begun. I cannot wait to see how God continues to move through this ministry and uses us to bring the Gospel to the nations.

So how can you be involved?

First and foremost, I would be honored to have you support me through prayer. Pray that God will raise up a wonderful and committed support team. Pray that God will move mightily through the ministry of Sports Friends. Pray that He will use you as well to bring His Gospel to the nations–however that may look and at whatever cost.

Secondly, stepping into this position means that I now have the unique opportunity to partner with the Lord in building up a financial support team. Would you consider becoming a dedicated part of my team as we partner together to reach the nations for Christ? You can give a recurring monthly amount or contribute to the launching fund here. If you are interested in sending checks, you can contact me and I will be happy to provide the information directly to you.

Third, I would love for you to join my mailing list for my update prayer and support letters. If you would like to join my communications list, you can contact me at Courtney.Mayes@sim.org.

I pray that God will remind you this week of His continual love for you. I pray that He will guide you through a tough decision or a tough season, never once letting go of you. I pray that you will be encouraged to know that He is inviting us in to partner with Him to spread His love to others and to tell them of the saving power of Jesus.

May we allow our roots to grow deeper in Him this week. May we allow our hearts to stand in awe of His majesty. And may we remember that He will never leave or forsake us. To Him be the glory forever and ever.

 

 

Share your thoughts....