.more.

6588a3868e43592faa468f38fa3869d7

Tonight is one of those nights where my soul is restless. Of course it always seems to coincide with the times that I am the most sleep deprived. But what a small sacrifice to pay when God wants to meet with you.

God wants more.

Our campus pastor challenged us with this simple phrase tonight and I can’t seem to stop thinking about it. God wants more of me, of my time, of my life. He knows I’m a mess, and he still wants more. He knows I make mistakes, and he still wants more. He understands my weaknesses, my shortfalls, my deficiencies, and yet he still wants more.

If God wants more, then I have to be willing to give him more.

Time is a precious resource that I am able to quickly waste. And as this idea of God wanting more was unpacked tonight by our campus pastor, I knew that God was asking me for more of my time.

This is something that I have had to be gently reminded of for quite some time. Oh what a patient God we serve!

So how do I give God more of my time? What if I don’t have any more time to give God?

What is causing me to hoard what God has given to me in the first place?

My time is not mine and I don’t want it to be mine. What I spend my time on will mold me. If I work all the time, I will become consumed with work. If I study day and night, I will hopefully become a good student. If I commit my time to God, I will become more like Christ.

This is where I am faced with a decision. This is where I determine if I am willing to give God more.

I want my life to be defined, surrounded, consumed, directed by Jesus. And if this is the desire of my heart, I have to put time in to it.

Any relationship you have in your life was established because you spent time with that person. A relationship with God is no different; it takes time and effort to truly give God more.

When we give God more, he gives us more of himself. We cannot out give God, but it is in the giving of more that he grows us.

What do you need to give God more of in your life?

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.

Ephesians 3:20 (emphasis added)

Share your thoughts....